MLB Baseball

#48
José Álvarez
ERA S K
2.75 0 27
Team: San FranciscoHt / Wt: 5-11 / 195
Position: RPBorn: 5/6/1989 Birthplace: Barcelona, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Red Sox (2005)


Latest News
Aug. 3 10:49 PM PT11:49 PM MT12:49 AM CT1:49 AM ET1:49 ET5:49 GMT13:49 10:49 PM MST12:49 AM EST11:49 PM CST1:19 AM VEN9:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 11-8 on Monday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
July 31 10:48 PM PT11:48 PM MT12:48 AM CT1:48 AM ET1:48 ET5:48 GMT13:48 10:48 PM MST12:48 AM EST11:48 PM CST1:18 AM VEN9:48 UAE11:48 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Houston Astros 9-6 on Friday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
July 29 10:23 PM PT11:23 PM MT12:23 AM CT1:23 AM ET1:23 ET5:23 GMT13:23 10:23 PM MST12:23 AM EST11:23 PM CST12:53 AM VEN9:23 UAE11:23 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-0 on Wednesday. Alvarez struck out two, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
July 25 9:58 PM PT10:58 PM MT11:58 PM CT12:58 AM ET0:58 ET4:58 GMT12:58 9:58 PM MST11:58 PM EST10:58 PM CST12:28 AM VEN8:58 UAE10:58 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 10-2 on Saturday. Alvarez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
July 23 10:26 PM PT11:26 PM MT12:26 AM CT1:26 AM ET1:26 ET5:26 GMT13:26 10:26 PM MST12:26 AM EST11:26 PM CST12:56 AM VEN9:26 UAE11:26 PM CT-Jose Alvarez improved to 4-1, allowing no hits over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-3 on Thursday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 22 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST11:19 PM CST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Jose Alvarez improved to 3-1, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Wednesday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
July 17 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 3-1 on Saturday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.34 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 10 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST5:39 PM CST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Washington Nationals 10-4 on Saturday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 10 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST11:19 PM CST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed three runs on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Washington Nationals 5-3 on Friday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 7 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST11:34 PM CST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-5 on Tuesday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
July 4 11:01 PM PT12:01 AM MT1:01 AM CT2:01 AM ET2:01 ET6:01 GMT14:01 11:01 PM MST1:01 AM EST12:01 AM CST1:31 AM VEN10:01 UAE12:01 AM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-5 on Saturday. Alvarez struck out two, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 2 9:53 PM PT10:53 PM MT11:53 PM CT12:53 AM ET0:53 ET4:53 GMT12:53 9:53 PM MST11:53 PM EST10:53 PM CST12:23 AM VEN8:53 UAE10:53 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-3 on Thursday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 30 10:14 PM PT11:14 PM MT12:14 AM CT1:14 AM ET1:14 ET5:14 GMT13:14 10:14 PM MST12:14 AM EST11:14 PM CST12:44 AM VEN9:14 UAE11:14 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-1 on Tuesday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 27 4:06 PM PT5:06 PM MT6:06 PM CT7:06 PM ET19:06 ET23:06 GMT7:06 4:06 PM MST6:06 PM EST5:06 PM CST6:36 PM VEN3:06 UAE (+1)5:06 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Oakland Athletics 6-2 on Sunday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
June 27 11:17 PM PT12:17 AM MT1:17 AM CT2:17 AM ET2:17 ET6:17 GMT14:17 11:17 PM MST1:17 AM EST12:17 AM CST1:47 AM VEN10:17 UAE12:17 AM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-5 on Saturday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
June 19 5:00 PM PT6:00 PM MT7:00 PM CT8:00 PM ET20:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 5:00 PM MST7:00 PM EST6:00 PM CST7:30 PM VEN4:00 UAE (+1)6:00 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 13-6 on Saturday. Alvarez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 17 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST11:30 PM CST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE11:30 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 13-7 on Wednesday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 13 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)2:00 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Washington Nationals 5-0 on Sunday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
June 12 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)2:31 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Washington Nationals 2-0 on Saturday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
June 9 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST10:55 PM CST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE10:55 PM CT-Jose Alvarez improved to 2-1, allowing no hits over 0.2 scoreless innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Texas Rangers 9-4 on Tuesday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
June 2 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST10:43 PM CST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE10:43 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Angels 8-1 on Tuesday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.58 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
May 29 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed two runs on four hits in 1.1 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 11-6 on Saturday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
May 26 10:28 PM PT11:28 PM MT12:28 AM CT1:28 AM ET1:28 ET5:28 GMT13:28 10:28 PM MST12:28 AM EST11:28 PM CST12:58 AM VEN9:28 UAE11:28 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 8-0 on Tuesday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
May 23 4:17 PM PT5:17 PM MT6:17 PM CT7:17 PM ET19:17 ET23:17 GMT7:17 4:17 PM MST6:17 PM EST5:17 PM CST6:47 PM VEN3:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 11-5 on Sunday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed two runs - zero earned - on two hits in 2.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-3 on Saturday. Alvarez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
May 20 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST2:28 PM CST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)2:28 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Cincinnati Reds 19-4 on Thursday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 5.56 ERA and 2.03 WHIP on the season.
May 9 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST5:19 PM CST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed four runs - two earned - on four hits in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the San Diego Padres 11-1 on Sunday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.94 WHIP on the season.
May 4 5:26 PM PT6:26 PM MT7:26 PM CT8:26 PM ET20:26 ET0:26 GMT8:26 5:26 PM MST7:26 PM EST6:26 PM CST7:56 PM VEN4:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Jose Alvarez walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Colorado Rockies 12-4 on Tuesday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
May 1 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST9:42 PM CST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the San Diego Padres 6-2 on Saturday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 10:24 PM PT11:24 PM MT12:24 AM CT1:24 AM ET1:24 ET5:24 GMT13:24 10:24 PM MST12:24 AM EST11:24 PM CST12:54 AM VEN9:24 UAE11:24 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 1.1 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Colorado Rockies 7-5 on Tuesday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST3:13 PM CST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Wednesday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Jose Alvarez improved to 1-1, allowing no hits and one walk over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 10-7 on Tuesday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST2:08 PM CST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)2:08 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Miami Marlins 1-0 on Sunday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 0.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Miami Marlins 7-6 on Saturday. Alvarez struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 2.10 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 9:27 PM PT10:27 PM MT11:27 PM CT12:27 AM ET0:27 ET4:27 GMT12:27 9:27 PM MST11:27 PM EST10:27 PM CST11:57 PM VEN8:27 UAE10:27 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Cincinnati Reds 3-0 on Monday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST5:10 PM CST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed two hits without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Colorado Rockies 4-0 on Sunday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 9:14 PM PT10:14 PM MT11:14 PM CT12:14 AM ET0:14 ET4:14 GMT12:14 9:14 PM MST11:14 PM EST10:14 PM CST11:44 PM VEN8:14 UAE10:14 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-0 on Saturday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Det 1 5 0 - 0 14 6 0 38.2 42 26 25 7 16 1 31 1.50 5.82
2014 LAA 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 0.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1.50 0.00
2015 LAA 4 3 0 - 1 64 0 0 67.0 58 29 26 5 23 4 59 1.21 3.49
2016 LAA 1 3 0 - 1 64 0 0 57.1 71 29 22 4 15 4 51 1.50 3.45
2017 LAA 0 3 1 - 3 64 0 0 48.2 50 23 21 7 12 5 45 1.27 3.88
2018 LAA 6 4 1 - 4 76 0 0 63.0 51 20 19 3 22 2 59 1.16 2.71
2019 Phi 3 4 1 - 3 67 1 0 59.0 66 25 22 8 18 4 51 1.42 3.36
2020 Phi 0 0 0 - 0 8 0 0 6.1 7 1 1 0 3 0 6 1.58 1.42
2021 SF 4 1 0 - 0 38 0 0 39.1 31 17 12 2 10 0 27 1.04 2.75
Career 19 23 3 - 12 397 7 0 380.0 377 170 148 36 119 20 330 1.31 3.51

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Det 14 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .500 .000
2016 LAA 64 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 SF 38 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 1 0 0 .000 .667 .000
Career 397 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 1 0 0 .000 .500 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Det Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 332 93 88 91 55.7
Slider 62 85 78 81.5 10.4
Changeup 174 86 78 81.3 29.19
Cut Fastball 28 88 83 86 4.7

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.