NHL Hockey

Boston Bruins (33-16-7)


Mon. 5/10 Tue. 5/11 Sat. 5/15 Mon. 5/17 Wed. 5/19
vs. NYI 
W 3-2
Box | Recap
@ Was 
L 1-2
Box | Recap
@ Was 
4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST5:15 PM CST6:15 PM EST3:15 UAE (+1)19:15 ET20:15 BRT
@ Was 
4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST5:30 PM CST6:30 PM EST3:30 UAE (+1)19:30 ET20:30 BRT
vs. Was 
3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST4:30 PM CST5:30 PM EST2:30 UAE (+1)18:30 ET19:30 BRT

Late additions paying off as Caps, Bruins open playoffs

Both the Washington Capitals and Boston Bruins hope their trade-deadline day acquisitions continue to be difference makers when they kick off their Stanley Cup playoff opening-round series Saturday in Washington, D.C.

The Capitals (36-15-5, 77 points) finished second in the East Division, having benefited from the addition of forward Anthony Mantha, who collected four goals and four assists in 14 games after being acquired from the Detroit Red Wings and will suit up in the NHL playoffs for the first time in his career.

As impressive as Mantha's contributions are, they are overshadowed by what Taylor Hall has done since joining the Bruins via trade from the Buffalo Sabres. Hall, the No. 1 overall draft choice in 2010, scored eight goals and added six assists in 16 games for the Bruins (33-16-7, 73 points), who finished third in East Division.

 MORE
Leaders
Points: B. Marchand69
Plus/Minus: P. Bergeron27
Shots on Goal: P. Bergeron182
PIM: T. Frederic65
Win: T. Rask15
Shutouts: J. Halak2
Offense (Rank)
Goals: 164 (14)
Shots: 1866 (3)
PP%: 21.9% (10)
Penalty Minutes: 533 (4)
Assists: 284 (14)
SH Goals: 9 (1)
Defense (Rank)
Goals Against: 134 (27)
Shots Against: 1516 (29)
PK%: 86.0% (2)
Penalty Minutes: 501 (7)
Shutouts: 6 (4)
Sv%: 0.912 (5)
Injuries
Date Player Status
5/11 J. Zboril Upper-body injury - left game (day-to-day)
5/10 O. Kase Upper-body injury - left game (day-to-day)
5/3 C. Coyle Undisclosed injury - left game (day-to-day)
3/11 J. Moore Undisclosed injury (IR)
Transactions
Date Player Transactions
5/12 C. Booth Called up from minors from taxi squad
5/12 Z. Senyshyn Sent to minors Providence-AHL
5/12 G. McKegg Sent to minors Providence-AHL
5/12 C. Hughes Sent to minors Providence-AHL
5/12 O. Steen Sent to minors Providence-AHL
5/12 U. Vaakanainen Sent to minors Providence-AHL
5/12 J. Studnicka Sent to minors Providence-AHL
5/11 G. McKegg Called up from minors from taxi squad
5/11 C. Hughes Called up from minors from taxi squad
5/11 J. Ahcan Called up from minors from Providence-AHL
Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.